Worst Transfer News yet|July 1st Approaches

On his way out?

Just a quick one gooners. This week has been dominated by the infamous Cesc story which was first run by the usually reliable BBC.

It is imperative for me to state however, that I still cannot “totally” believe the entire story; this is because there was no credible name mentioned, and that gives the BBC plausible deniability should there be any trouble.

I used the word “totally” because I believe that behind virtually every rumour is a pointer, and an element of truth, no matter how minute.

And to those basing their assumption on the photo shoot for the new away kit, let me point out to you that Van Persie was absent too. And RVP is as loyal to Arsenal as they come. Apparently, Nasri also tweeted that he loved the new kit too, so the story can go either way.

Now to the title of my post and I was not exaggerating, at least that is what I believe. Just yesterday evening, the agent of our Brazilian “winner” (Denilson), said he doubts that any deal will be made for his client and in the event of no bids, Denilson will be returning for preseason with Arsenal. Said He,

I don’t know anything about Milan at the moment they are rumours. Spanish or Italian clubs? There are no talks…The only certainty is that if nothing happens in the coming days, Denílson will join Arsenal for pre-season.

For all He said last season about this Arsenal team not having his winning mentality, Denilson would be brave to stay with us surely.

Life as an Arsenal fan is fun, isn’t it? We are struggling to keep our top players, Fàbregas, Nasri and Clichy; and also struggling to get rid of the deadwood, Denílson, Squillaci, Bendtner and Almunia. Some Arsenal fan even put Denilson up for sale on e-bay! That shows you how much we want him out of the club.

Now we’ll be probably stuck with this “winner” for another season and since he won’t get anywhere near the first team ( fingers crossed), we’ll be paying him just to train. Left to me, we could always give him away for free.

The rumours have continued as usual, and while some are reporting that we have ditched Samba for Cahill, others are making noise about a double swoop. How interesting can it get? Which brings me to this…

For some reason which I cannot explain (and I doubt anyone can), July 1st has become the day of salvation for gooners; that day we look forward to for the fulfillment of our dreams. We believe for some strange reason that our signings (God let there be more than one!) will be announced on that day.

I am as desperate as you all are for signings but a mate recently pointed out to me that we have never announced a signing on July 1st! If this is true, I wouldn’t get my hopes up if I were you, but what is to say we cannot begin that trend this year?

So while I’m hopeful that July 1st will be that glorious day, I won’t hold my breath though, with the knowledge that it might be like just any other day….rumours, rumours and more rumours!

It’s a wrap guys, let’s hope Wenger can surprise us all and pull something off this week. One thing’s for sure though, we won’t be starting next season with exactly the same set of players.

Have a splendid day wherever you are reading this from.

Remember to follow us on twitter @goonermemoirs for Arsenal news as they break.

See you in the commments!

About qed14

God, Family, Arsenal...in that order. Follow on twitter: @q_e_d_14

Posted on June 29, 2011, in What's happening and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lol. Denilson n bendtner sure think highly of themselves. I guess its a way of motivating themselves dat dey chose d right careers even tho its clearly nt true. I shall begin 2 worry bout our lack of signings in august. Till den, we r jst seein arsene in his same form.

  2. We better sign players. I’m tired of all the speculation. What haven’t we heard. I hate wenger and Arsenals behaviour towards the fans. They never have us in mind. They do what’s best 4 the board. I’m sick of it. Or else tell me why we haven’t signed anyone till nw. We have money but we can’t spend. Its rather pathetic. I’m tired of their bullshit. Let’s just see how things go.

  3. Last year we had signed Chamakh and Kosc till July 1st. And they both performed well. And we all know about Squillaci.
    I’m quite dissapointed we haven’t bought anyone this summer.Even gervinho doesn’t look a huge improvement to me.
    Here are some of the most memorable Arsenal matches:
    http://delhigunner.wordpress.com/2011/07/01/most-memorable-arsenal-matches/

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

